Becoming an enrolled nurse

To become an enrolled nurse in Australia the minimum level of study is the Diploma of Nursing. The course is delivered through the Vocation Education and Training (VET) sector, this could be your local TAFE or state/territory institute of technology. Some private Registered Training Organisations (RTO's) are also approved to deliver the Diploma of Nursing.

Following the completion of the Diploma you could undertake further study with the Advanced Diploma (also delivered through the VET sector).

Once you graduate from an approved course, a registration application is made to the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) to practice as an enrolled nurse.

For further information on how to become an enrolled nurse in Australia please visit your state/territory health department website.

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia